intern

I know i’ve been missing in action for the past while, work has been insanely busy with corporate events and launch parties that we have to work during after work hours. So when i’m not working I find myself just, literally – doing nothing. 

But…

I’m totally excited and looking forward to the end of my current internship (my last day is on Dec 19th). I will be sad that it is over, but am looking forward to what the future re my career, will hold. I will miss the great working environment (where the President & CEO of the company will joke around with you about Entrourage), wonderful bosses (that say thank you to you after every completed assignment), and the laid back corporate culture (every day is a business casual day). 

Through my post-grad Corporate Communications program at Seneca College, I landed a sweet gig, a four month internship with Corus Entertainment. Although it’s not fashion related, Corus is a reputable and established corporation owning 52 radio stations and 14 television networks across Canada. Working in the Communications department, I had the privilege to provide support for the corporate and radio division. From writing press releases, to preparing press kits, to helping out on-site at launch parties and corporate events, to writing company flashes and articles for the internal newsletter etc., at Corus I was put to work on as many projects and different tasks as possible where my super cool bosses were genuinely interested in providing me with an enriching learning experience. 

For the first time, I actually have nothing but great things to say about this experience. And believe me, that’s a first! I’ve had my fair share of crazy, boring, and devil wears prada internship experiences. 

But now the hunt for a real job begins… and OH where for art thou?

FYI, any fashion related PR career in Toronto is far and few between and because the economy is hardcore sucking, job postings are pretty much non-existent…

